Why I argue

Mary Wollstonecraft is awesome and kinda hilarious.

BECAUSE I CAN.

No, seriously.  That’s pretty much it.

As a woman, there seems to be a great deal of pressure for me to be nice and sweet and not argumentative.    I happen to enjoy being argumentative.

In part because I see this as something my predecessors fought for.  Mary Wollstonecraft would be proud, and Eleanor of Aquitaine would be only disappointed in my ambitions (I don’t really feel ruling europe from the shadows).  I can argue because they and women like them through time have argued, and persuaded and gotten mad and written stuff down.

I see my ability to express and argue an intelligent informed postition as a way to honor the women who went before me.

Also, I’ve never been good at keeping my mouth shut.

The Brontesaurus agrees with me.

About Dee

Dee is a hardworking twenty-something working as a medical librarian in Texas. Her ability to go on tangents and create non-sensical metaphors is almost legendary.
This entry was posted in Feminism, Hollaback and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

